Newcastle United 25 man squad announced

Newcastle United today named their Premier League squad for season 2019/20.

As the transfer window closed all Premier League teams are required to submit their list of 25 players. Only 8 of the playing squad must be classed as a ‘Home Grown Player’ (HGP), which essentially means he needs to have played 3 seasons in England (or Wales) before he was 21.

The size of the squad always meant that some players were bound to miss out. The unlucky ones this time were Jamie Sterry, Achraf Lazaar, Henri Saivet and possibly surprisingly Jack Colback and Rolando Aarons, with the latter in particular seemingly impressing in pre-season.

The squad in full:

1 - Martin Dubravka

2 - Ciaran Clark (HGP)

3- Paul Dummett (HGP)

4 - Ki Sung-yueng

5 - Fabian Schar

6 - Jamaal Lascelles (HGP)

7 - Andy Carroll (HGP)

8 - Jonjo Shelvey (HGP)

9 - Joelinton

10 - Allan Saint-Maximin

11 - Matt Ritchie (HGP)

12 - Dwight Gayle (HPG)

13 - Yoshinori Muto

14 - Isaac Hayden (HGP)

15 - Jetro Willems

17 - Emil Krafth

18 - Federico Fernandez

19 - Javier Manquillo

20 - Florian Lejeune

21 - Rob Elliot (HGP)

22 - DeAndre Yedlin

24 - Miguel Almiron

26 - Karl Darlow (HGP)

30 - Cristian Atsu

26 - Sean Longstaff (HGP)

43 - Matty Longstaff (HGP)

So 12 HGP in the squad that sees some new faces as well as shirt numbers change.

Martin Dubravka rightly claims the Nr1 shirt from Rob Elliot, who remains in the squad at 21. Meanwhile the number 7 shirt, previously worn by Jacob Murphy (who moved to Sheffield Wednesday on loan) goes to Andy Carroll.

Dwight Gayle comes in at number 12 whilst Matty Longstaff is rewarded with his first senior shirt number of 43.


© 2015 by Lane & Sons

Use your desktop to access a range of other great features Club History, interactive European History Map and loads more...