top of page

What's in a number?!

Squad numbers for Newcastle United’s 2020/21 season were announced today.

There would be no change in the ownership of the famous number 9 shirt in the end, with Joelinton keeping hold of the shirt he’d had since his club record transfer.

The new man who had been supposedly vying for that shirt, Callum Wilson, instead given the number 13 shirt, a number he was particularly keen to wear if he could not get his hands on 9.

Elsewhere there were new allocations for Jamal Lewis (15), Jeff Hendrick (16) and Ryan Fraser (21), whilst a number of players who are tipped to be leaving the club before the end of the current transfer window also retained or were allocated numbers in the full list.

The full list of squad numbers is as follows:

1 Martin Dubravka

2 Ciaran Clark

3 Paul Dummett

4 Matty Longstaff

5 Fabian Schär

6 Jamaal Lascelles

7 Andy Carroll

8 Jonjo Shelvey

9 Joelinton

10 Allan Saint-Maximin

11 Matt Ritchie

12 Dwight Gayle

13 Callum Wilson

14 Isaac Hayden

15 Jamal Lewis

16 Jeff Hendrick

17 Emil Krafth

18 Federico Fernández

19 Javier Manquillo

20 Florian Lejeune

21 Ryan Fraser

22 DeAndre Yedlin

23 Jacob Murphy

24 Miguel Almirón

26 Karl Darlow

27 Yoshinori Muto

28 Henri Saivet

29 Mark Gillespie

30 Christian Atsu

32 Daniel Barlaser

36 Sean Longstaff

41 Dan Langley



bottom of page